Several users have noticed that they receive notifications when they or someone else performs screenshots to save stories in Story format. Instagram representatives have confirmed that they are testing such a facility. Basically, when a user makes a screenshot to save an image in Story format, he receives a warning telling him that at the next capture the author of the original post will find out. At the other end of the thread, the author of a Story post, can see who saved the content through a screenshot. It does not receive a proper notification.
Instead, he can see a new indicator that shows who made screenshots with his post on the screen. Instagram tries to protect the original content, but also to increase engagement – users will come back to check if and who has copied their posting by taking a screenshot. So far, the only feature that Instagram users were alerted to in the case of a screenshot was the direct message. A similar approach to screenshots is Snapchat, which
Instagram has already copied several features including Stories – the top area of the app that displays valid 24-hour postings.